Sayonara Tcl/Tk

Can't fit to any of above? Send here.

Sayonara Tcl/Tk

Postby Googie » Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:42 pm

Long story short: SQLiteStudio moves from Tcl/Tk to C++/Qt, because Tcl/Tk wasn't good enough. More details on new version are here.

Now, if anybody's interested in details of why Tcl/Tk is not good enough, I will elaborate on this.

I was struggling with various problems in Tcl. I used to be a strong Tcl fun. I've been programming in it for about 10 years.
I believed in its simplicity and great possibilities. Well, at least the former one is true. I have had enough. I decided to move to C++ with Qt.
Tcl is broken at design level and it also lacks base set of ready to use solutions. I still think it's excellent tool for simplifying daily tasks.
I use it and probably will use it for that purpose. It turns out that its name fits it perfectly (Tcl - Tool Command Language).

Here are few examples of what made me change my mind:

1. Multi-threading model.
In most modern languages you have your application in memory and you can start serveral threads to work with it, taking care of proper synchronization.
Most programmers are familiar with that. Tcl on the other hand provides slightly simplified model. Here every thread has its own memory segment
(its own Tcl interpreter). Every thread can work only with its own data, therefore there's no need for any synchronization (well, almost...
but we'll talk about it later). Threads talk to each other by messages - one thread tells another to do something and the other one will do it
as soon as it's idle. It's impossible to cause dead-lock or memory corruption. As great as it might seem it introduces huge disadventages:
a) You cannot simply share Tcl procedures across threads. You have to create the same procedure in every thread you want to use it in.
b) You also cannot share big chunks of data. You have to send it in message to another thread, in other words - copy it.